read kindle Á Dark Under the Cover of Night The Kingdom of the East Angles #1


mobi Dark Under the Cover of Night

read kindle Á Dark Under the Cover of Night The Kingdom of the East Angles #1 µ ❴Download❵ ➾ Dark Under the Cover of Night (The Kingdom of the East Angles #1) Author Jayne Castel – Danpashley.co.uk In a world where to go against a king's word means death she must decide ifIn a world where to go against a king's word means death she must decide if forbidden love is worth the risk Raedwyn daughter of King Raedwald of the East Angles has just wed one of her father's ealdorman Although highborn women wed to strengthen political alliances rather than for love Raedwyn still hopes for a happy marriage like that of her parents' But her optimism is shattered on her wedding night for her new husband is callous and roughRaedwyn's life shifts une This is an absorbing exciting historically driven novel that takes a mix of fiction and non fiction characters and threads a romance through turbulent times The first thing I do when I start a Jayne Castel novel is tap into Wikipedia and look up details on the monarchs mentioned Raedwald was a true Anglo Saxon king of East Anglia from c 599 to 624 Once I knew that Raedwald was the king most likely to be the subject of the ship burial where the famed Sutton Hoo helmet was found and that the novel picks up about one year before his death I knew I was in for an adventure The Sutton Hoo Helmet Source Wikipedia Raedwald of East AngliaRaedwyn the beloved daughter of King Raedwald is at the heart of the fictional love story Shortly after her marriage to an ealderman of her father's they are ambushed and she is abducted to be held as a threat against her father Raedwald must meet Ceolwulf in battle or Raedwyn dies However Raedwyn is feisty and smart and manages to get away from her captors Ceolwulf's son Caelin is the talented tracker who finds her Their alone time sparks an attraction and when Caelin realizes that Raedwyn is likely to be killed no matter what their fathers do he takes matters into his own hands Caelin watched the sunrise knowing it was likely to be his last The knowledge made this spectacular dawn all the poignantbut knowing his father as he did Caelin was sure Raedwyn would not have survived Ceolwulf's vengeanceThis novel went in such unexpected directions that I was completely fascinated Slavery deceit betraying family secrets and a maturing prince all wrap around the intriguing story line Hero Caelin is not infallible and Raedwyn finds she must adapt to survive Author Castel doesn't sugarcoat the position of women in Dark Ages society Nor does she shy away from the violence of battle or the emotions that accompany preparing for possible death and the aftermath of being victor or vanuished Women find they have to live with the conseuences of decisions not their own and men in charge have to live with the blood of many on their hands I like the balance between romance and history this author achieves Raedwyn discovers she is lucky to have an opportunity for love and Caelin determines she is the only important thing Their path is not easy their love is forbidden and many are fighting against them Note Sexual content including attempted rape This book is currently free on Book source freebie

Dark Under the Cover of Night The Kingdom of the East Angles #1 In a world where to go against a king's word means death she must decide if forbidden love is worth the risk Raedwyn daughter of King Raedwald of the East Angles has just wed one of her father's ealdorman Although highborn women wed to strengthen political alliances rather than for love Raedwyn still hopes for a happy marriage like that of her parents' But her optimism is shattered on her wedding night for her new husband is callous and roughRaedwyn's life shifts une This is an absorbing exciting historically driven novel that takes a mix of fiction and non fiction characters and threads a romance through turbulent times The first thing I do when I start a Jayne Castel novel is tap into Wikipedia and look up details on the monarchs mentioned Raedwald was a true Anglo Saxon king of East Anglia from c 599 to 624 Once I knew that Raedwald was the king most likely to be the subject of the ship burial where the famed Sutton Hoo helmet was found and that the novel picks up about one year before his death I knew I was in for an adventure The Sutton Hoo Helmet Source Wikipedia Raedwald of East AngliaRaedwyn the beloved daughter of King Raedwald is at the heart of the fictional love story Shortly after her marriage to an ealderman of her father's they are ambushed and she is abducted to be held as a threat against her father Raedwald must meet Ceolwulf in battle or Raedwyn dies However Raedwyn is feisty and smart and manages to get away from her captors Ceolwulf's son Caelin is the talented tracker who finds her Their alone time sparks an attraction and when Caelin realizes that Raedwyn is likely to be killed no matter what their fathers do he takes matters into his own hands Caelin watched the sunrise knowing it was likely to be his last The knowledge made this spectacular dawn all the poignantbut knowing his father as he did Caelin was sure Raedwyn would not have survived Ceolwulf's vengeanceThis novel went in such unexpected directions that I was completely fascinated Slavery deceit betraying family secrets and a maturing prince all wrap around the intriguing story line Hero Caelin is not infallible and Raedwyn finds she must adapt to survive Author Castel doesn't sugarcoat the position of women in Dark Ages society Nor does she shy away from the violence of battle or the emotions that accompany preparing for possible death and the aftermath of being victor or vanuished Women find they have to live with the conseuences of decisions not their own and men in charge have to live with the blood of many on their hands I like the balance between romance and history this author achieves Raedwyn discovers she is lucky to have an opportunity for love and Caelin determines she is the only important thing Their path is not easy their love is forbidden and many are fighting against them Note Sexual content including attempted rape This book is currently free on Book source freebie

pdf µ The Kingdom of the East Angles #1 Ã Jayne Castel

Dark Under the Cover of Night (The Kingdom of the East Angles #1) ´ Talment in Jayne Castel's THE KINGDOM OF THE EAST ANGLES series is for fans of Historical Fiction Historical Romance and Adventure Readers who love Diana Gabaldon Bernard Cornwell and Elizabeth Chadwick should enjoy this epic romance adventure set in Dark Ages Britain Although each novel follows on historically this series can be read as separate standalone romancesDARK UNDER THE COVER OF NIGHT was a uarter finalist in the Breakthrough Novel Award 2013 Romance catego WowI loved it This was an excellent read from beginning to endThe story revolves around Raedwyn beloved daughter to King of the East Angles She is given in marriage for political alliance but still holds onto the hope of a love match On her wedding night she finds out that the possibility of love is not likely because of her new husband's rough treatment On the journey to her husband's home they are attacked by an enemy of her father What happens to Raedwyn after this is a nightmare but expected in this time period Men took what they wantedkilled who they pleasedand woman had no say in anything It is a world that a woman has to find a way to survive in Raedwyn never loses her will and is strong and brave even when her own father loses faith in her I enjoyed every part of this story and will be reading the next book in this series pdf µ The Kingdom of the East Angles #1 Ã Jayne Castel

Jayne Castel à The Kingdom of the East Angles #1 epub

Jayne Castel à The Kingdom of the East Angles #1 epub Xpectedly when outlaws ambush her husband's party on their journey back to his long ship She finds herself captive of a bitter vengeful warrior who has a score to settle with her father Raedwyn is his bargaining tool Caelin the outlaw's enigmatic son follows his father on his uest for revenge Fiercely loyal to her own father Raedwyn isn't prepared for her wild attraction to Caelin or for its conseuences Their love is forbidden but it will not be denied This first ins I believe that this is considered a classic historical romance where everyone is dirty and cold the men out number the women 3 to 1 and even the English have strange names Not really my preferred genre but it got good reviews from my GR friends so I figured I'd give it a tryThe story was good and well written A simple plot for simpler times Women were married off for political gain and the lucky ones found someone tolerable or better as their mate The rest were doomed to being beaten or ignoredThis book confirms that this is not my genre as the love story was too obvious and there wasn't enough sex to ward off the cold The heroine was strong but still trapped by the confines of the dayIf you like this time period you will probably like this book